Treasuring Our Elderly Friends

and when CO paid me a visit

Today I wanted to share a personal experience that had a big impact on my spiritual journey.

Shortly after my baptism, when I had just started auxiliary pioneering, a Circuit Overseer paid me a visit.

While he commended my enthusiasm for working with other pioneers in the congregation, he gently reminded me not to forget about our elderly brothers and sisters. 

This simple reminder sparked a change in my approach to ministry and fellowship.

From that day forward, I made a conscious effort to connect with the older ones in our congregation - greeting them warmly at meetings, engaging in little chats, and making service arrangements.

What I discovered was truly beautiful!

It was heartwarming to see how grateful they were for the attention. It filled my heart with joy and the wonderful satisfaction of knowing I was pleasing Jehovah. 

Friends, today, I feel compelled to pass on to you that gentle reminder that touched my heart years ago. Let's not overlook the precious gems in our congregation - our beloved elderly sisters and brothers. 

If your heart yearns to make a meaningful impact in your congregation, consider turning your attention to these treasured members. Their wealth of experience and love for Jehovah can enrich our lives in countless ways. 

Here are some heartwarming suggestions to inspire your journey of connection:

  1. Next meeting, why not approach an older friend for a chat (and maybe a warm hug)?

  2. Invite an older brother or sister for a coffee.

  3. Include our elderly friends in your service plans.

  4. For those in senior homes, consider visiting or setting up some Zoom service time or gift them a nice set of stationery.

  5. Offer tech support, especially with the JW Library app. (I recently helped a sister download her daily text, and it was so rewarding!)

Remember, these small gestures and your company mean the world to them, and I promise you'll find it incredibly fulfilling.

 As someone who was growing up without a grandmother, I can tell you that Jehovah has blessed me with many through our spiritual family. These dear sisters, with their priceless experiences and wisdom, are living testaments to enduring faith—their influence in our lives is truly immeasurable.

Let's keep showing love to all our friends, especially those who've walked in the truth for so long.

 

With warm love,
Alla

 

P.S. I'd love to hear how you enjoy helping our older friends! Drop me a comment below and share your experiences!

Reply

or to participate.