'The Social Dilemma', My Reflections

Rethinking Social Media

I just watched "The Social Dilemma" documentary, and wow, it really made me think differently about social media and how I want to use it in the future.

Before seeing the film, I knew social media was addictive. Still, this documentary really opened my eyes to the extent of the issue. It made me rethink how I interact with Instagram, the platform I use the most (I already deleted Twitter and TikTok, as I wasn't using them much).

Like many people, I always believed that I was in control of my social media use. I thought I was the one making conscious choices about what to click, like, or share. However, "The Social Dilemma" showed me that our choices on these platforms are heavily influenced by sophisticated algorithms designed to predict and shape our behaviour. The truth is startling.

From the documentary, I gained several key insights

  1. Algorithmic Influence: Social media algorithms constantly analyze our behaviour to predict our future actions and show us content that will keep us engaged.

  2. Addiction by Design: These platforms are intentionally designed to be addictive, often using psychological tactics similar to those used in gambling.

  3. Exploitation of Human Psychology: Tech giants like Google, Instagram, and Facebook employ experts who understand human psychology, allowing them to exploit our cognitive weaknesses.

  4. Subconscious Manipulation: Much of this influence happens at a subconscious level, making it hard for us to realize how we're being affected.

The realization that my online behaviour might be more manipulated than I thought was disturbing. I found myself thinking about my own struggles with excessive use, often feeling unable to put my phone down or close the app. This documentary helped me understand why it feels so hard to disconnect.

Despite the discomfort that came with this realization, I recognized that knowledge is empowering. Being aware of these tactics has inspired me to make more conscious choices about my social media use. I am determined to take charge of how I interact with these platforms rather than allowing them to dictate my behaviour.

I encourage you, friend, to take a moment to think about your own relationship with social media.

Here are some questions you can ask yourself to see if you are in control or if algorithms might be guiding you without you realizing:

  • Hw much time do I spend on social media daily?

  • Do I find myself scrolling without a purpose?

  • Is checking social media the first thing I do when I wake up or the last thing I do before I sleep?

  • Do I feel anxious or irritable when I can't access social media?

  • Has my social media use negatively impacted my work, studies, or personal relationships?

It's important to think about how the content in your feed might be shaping your thoughts, emotions, and actions without your awareness.

We live in a world where we can't afford to be ignorant. We have access to a wealth of information about social media, and we must educate ourselves on how it impacts us. Ignoring this can make us more susceptible to its impact and risks.

While social media can be a powerful tool for connection and information, it's crucial to use it mindfully. Let's be aware of the invisible forces at play and make deliberate choices about our online engagement.

Have you seen "The Social Dilemma"? How has it changed your view of social media? I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Here are some resources worth reading

Reply

or to participate.